Red Eye       

Logged in as Guest | Group "Guests"Welcome Guest | My profile | Sign Up | Log out | Login

Main » 2011 » July » 6 » Overview of chapters Srimad Vagabat Gita...
8:58 AM
Overview of chapters Srimad Vagabat Gita...
1. Arjuna requests Krishna to move his chariot between the two armies. When Arjuna sees his
relatives on the opposing army side of the Kurus, he loses courage and decides not to fight.
2. After asking Krishna for help, Arjuna is instructed that only the body may be killed, while the
eternal self is immortal. Krishna appeals to Arjuna that as a warrior he has a duty to uphold
the path of dharma through warfare.
3. Arjuna asks why he should engage in fighting if knowledge is more important than action.Krishna stresses to Arjuna that performing his duties for the greater good, but without attachment to results is the appropriate course of action.
4. Krishna reveals that he has lived through many births, always teaching Yoga for the
protection of the pious and the destruction of the impious and stresses the
importance of accepting a guru.
5. Arjuna asks Krishna if it is better to forgo action or to act. Krishna answers that
both ways may be beneficent, but that acting in Karma Yoga is superior.
6. Krishna describes the correct posture for meditation and the process of how to
achieve samadhi.
7. Krishna teaches the path of knowledge (Jnana Yoga).
8. Krishna defines the terms brahman, adhyatma, karma, adhibhuta and adhidaiva and
explains how one can remember him at the time of death and attain his supreme
9. Krishna explains panentheism, "all beings are in me" as a way of remembering him in
all circumstances.
10. Krishna describes how he is the ultimate source of all material and spiritual worlds.
Arjuna accepts Krishna as the supreme being, quoting great sages who have also
done so.
11. On Arjuna's request, Krishna displays his "universal form" (Viśvarūpa), an epiphany
of a being facing every way and emitting the radiance of a thousand suns, containing
all other beings and material in existence.
12. Krishna describes the process of devotional service (Bhakti Yoga).
13. Krishna describes nature (prakrti), the enjoyer (purusha) and consciousness.
14. Krishna explains the three modes (gunas) of material nature.
15. Krishna describes a symbolic tree (representing material existence), its roots in the
heavens and its foliage on earth. Krishna explains that this tree should be felled
with the "axe of detachment", after which one can go beyond to his supreme abode.
16. Krishna tells of the human traits of the divine and the demonic natures. He counsels
that to attain the supreme destination one give up lust, anger and greed, discern
between right and wrong action by evidence from scripture and thus act rightly.
17. Krishna tells of three divisions of faith and the thoughts, deeds and even eating
habits corresponding to the three gunas.
18. In conclusion, Krishna asks Arjuna to abandon all forms of dharma and simply
surrender unto him. He describes this as the ultimate perfection of life
Category: Srimad Bhagavad Gita | Views: 75 | Added by: Redeye | Rating: 0.0/0
Total comments: 0
Name *:
Email *:
Code *:


Your shopping cart is empty